Walking Slowly… Moving Fast!

Posted: November 9, 2010 in Exhorta Youth

Mrs Velez, you are moving really slow….

 Actually, I wasn’t. I was moving relatively fast. I was late!  However, once I heard her comment I actually went back to where she was and looked at her. She was not looking at me. She couldn’t. At that point there was no doubt. This girl was under the influence and there was nothing I could do about it.

 If I tell you this is the first student I have in class who is under the influence I would be lying. I have seen them talking fast and loud during my first hour and then snoozing in my 5th hour. I have seen the buyers sleeping in class while the sellers just talk in codes offering more “services,” “dreams,” “whishes,” and “chocolates”. Am I the only educator who deals with drugs at school?

 Not according to a new national survey that published that the number of students attending US schools where drugs are present has jumped 41 percent for high school students and 47 percent for middle school students since 2002. According to the US Department of Health & Human Services, 11.8 percent of 8th graders, 26.7 percent of 10th graders and 32.8 percent of 12th graders have used Marijuana.

 I still remember talking to these parents who came to me in tears because they had just found out their son was not only using but also selling marijuana at school…

This story is part of a seminar called “Walking Slowly… Moving Fast!”

Leave a Reply

